肠道以外的多种疾病区域

众所周知,微生物组对免疫系统、新陈代谢并可能会对中枢神经系统产生至关重要的影响。通过我们对这些细菌的功能及其与人体的相互作用的了解,4D制药开发出的活体生物药具有治疗多种疾病的潜力。

不同的有机体;不同的机制

我们的每个项目都以不同的活体生物药为基础,每个项目都通过各种不同的机制运作。通过MicroRx,我们能够了解我们的候选药物是如何在分子水平上影响人体的。这使我们能够更有效地使用我们的活体生物药对疾病进行干预靶向治疗。此外,通过MicroDx,我们可以评估这些候选药物对宿主微生物组的影响。

当前的产品线

通过MicroRx,我们已经在不同的治疗领域产生了17个开发项目,包括胃肠道、自身免疫、肿瘤学、呼吸道和中枢神经系统。

0

肠易激综合征 - 胃肠道

Phase 1

该病症主要表现为腹痛、腹胀和排便频率的变化。肠易激综合征的病因表现为多个方面;然而,肠道菌群在引发疾病中的关键作用也越来越明显。现有的肠易激综合征治疗方法主要集中在症状管理上,目前还没有可用的治疗方法来解决造成肠易激综合征的根本原因。

Blautix是一种单菌株人类肠道共生细菌,具有独特的新陈代谢作用,可用于治疗肠易激综合征。在肠道内,已知Blautix消耗的气体会导致腹胀、腹痛和排便频率变化。

我们已成功完成了IBS患者Blautix的Ib期临床研究。我们预计将在2018年下半年启动第二期试验。


克罗恩病 - 胃肠道

Phase 1

克罗恩病是一种炎症性肠病,可发生在胃肠道的任何部位,但主要影响小肠。在所有克罗恩病患者中,约有20-30%的患者年龄在20岁以下,并且在儿科人群中这种疾病在临床上的表现是不同的。患者会出现腹泻、直肠出血和腹痛的症状,其中许多人也会出现体重减轻、营养不良和青春期延迟的现象。成人群体使用的许多标准疗法对于儿童来说是有问题的,包括类固醇和其它会加剧生长迟缓的系统性免疫抑制剂。

Thetanix是一种单菌株人类肠道共生细菌,具有抗炎机制,目前正在处于研究中,用于治疗小儿克罗恩病。Thetanix是专门针对下肠 - 儿童最严重疾病发病区域的靶向药物。

我们已经对儿科患者进行Ib期临床研究的给药,我们预计将在2018年晚些时候获得该项针对安全性的研究的结果。

溃疡性结肠炎 - 胃肠道

Development

溃疡性结肠炎(UC)是一种炎症性肠病,影响直肠和结肠。溃疡性结肠炎中的炎症发生在肠道中,是肠道菌群与粘膜之间的相互作用失调所导致的。与成人相比,溃疡性结肠炎在儿童中有特异表现。这种疾病的儿科形式被广泛认为比成人形式更具侵略性,从而导致负面后果的风险增加。与成人相比,溃疡性结肠炎患儿发生类固醇依赖的风险和结肠切除率更高。一小部分儿童将通过医疗或外科手术治疗得到永久性缓解,但大多数儿童将继续患有严重急性发作的持续性疾病。

Rosburix是一种单菌株人类肠道共生细菌,具有抗炎机制,目前正在处于研究中,用于治疗小儿溃疡性结肠炎。

0

实体肿瘤 - 免疫肿瘤学

Development

2015年11月,4D宣布公司已开发出一种活体生物药候选药物,该药物在癌症中显示出了临床前疗效。我们的免疫肿瘤学项目以具有免疫刺激宿主反应谱的菌株为基础。我们正在研究该候选药物对多种实体瘤类型的影响

0

哮喘 - 呼吸道

Development

重症哮喘患者占整体哮喘人群的5-10%,并且具有显著的未满足需求。这些患者无法使用吸入器和支气管扩张剂的最大剂量来控制其症状,他们需要附加治疗来改善病情恶化。特别是,对于患有中性粒细胞表型哮喘的患者的治疗方案非常有限。我们的主要候选药物在重症哮喘的临床前模型中显示出了显著的疗效。

过敏性哮喘 - 呼吸道

Development

嗜酸性哮喘是一种有别于重症嗜中性粒细胞型哮喘的独特表型,其特征在于气道中嗜酸性粒细胞增多。我们有一种能在动物模型中减少气道嗜酸性粒细胞的活体生物药候选药物,这可能是治疗这组患者炎症的新方法。

0

类风湿性关节炎 - 自身免疫

Development

类风湿性关节炎(RA)是一种关节自身免疫性疾病,在美国和主要欧盟市场已影响超过300万人。尽管推出了许多类风湿性关节炎治疗方法,但仍有相当多的患者需要安全有效的治疗方案。我们的类风湿性关节炎活体生物药候选药物在临床前模型中显示出抗炎和联合保护的疗效。

Multiple sclerosis

Development

多发性硬化症(MS)是由于免疫系统攻击神经细胞绝缘层(即髓鞘)而引起的疾病。目前还没有治疗多发性硬化症的方法,大多数患者需要终生服用药物。虽然也有许多治疗方法可用于多发性硬化症患者,但它们都有着明显的副作用。公司的多发性硬化症活体生物药候选药物在行业标准的临床前模型中显示出很强的疗效。

0

中枢神经系统

Preclinical

4D也正在进行脑肠轴的研究,以发现和开发用于治疗神经退行性疾病和自闭症的活体生物药。

中枢神经系统

Preclinical

4D也正在进行脑肠轴的研究,以发现和开发用于治疗神经退行性疾病和自闭症的活体生物药。

BACK TO TOP

Diverse disease areas beyond the gut

It is well understood that the microbiome has a fundamental influence on the immune system, metabolism and potentially the central nervous system. Through our understanding of the functionality and interaction of these bacteria with the human body, live biotherapeutics developed by 4D pharma have the potential to treat a large number of diseases.

Different organisms; distinct mechanisms

Each of our programmes is underpinned by a different live biotherapeutic, which operate through a variety of different mechanisms. Using MicroRx, we are able to gain an understanding of how our candidates impact the human body at the molecular level. This allows us to more effectively target diseases for intervention with our live biotherapeutics.

Current pipeline

Using MicroRx, we have generated 15 development programmes in diverse therapeutic areas including GI, autoimmune, oncology, respiratory and CNS.

0

Irritable bowel syndrome

Phase 1

Irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) is a common bowel disorder which affects around 10-15% of the population. The condition is characterised by abdominal pain, bloating and changes in bowel frequency. The causes of IBS are multi-faceted; however, it is becoming increasingly clear that the gut microbiota plays a key role in driving the disease. Existing treatments for IBS focus on symptom management, and there are currently no available therapeutics which tackle the underlying causes of IBS.

Blautix is a single-strain human gut commensal bacteria with a distinctive metabolism which may allow the treatment of IBS. Inside the gut, Blautix consumes gases which are known to cause bloating, abdominal pain and changes in bowel frequency. We recently completed a successful Phase Ib clinical study of Blautix in IBS patients.

Paediatric Crohn’s disease

Phase 1

Crohn’s disease is an inflammatory bowel disease which can occur in any part of the gastro-intestinal tract, but primarily affects the small intestine. Approximately 20-30% of all Crohn’s disease patients present when they are younger than 20 years old and the manifestation of the disease in the paediatric population is clinically distinct. Patients suffer from diarrhoea, rectal bleeding and abdominal pain with many also experiencing weight loss, malnutrition and pubertal delay. Many of the standard therapies used in the adult population are problematic in children, including steroids and other systemic immunosuppressants which can exacerbate growth retardation.


Thetanix is a single-strain human gut commensal bacteria which has an anti-inflammatory mechanism and is under investigation for the treatment of paediatric Crohn’s disease. Thetanix specifically targets the lower bowel – the region of most severe disease in children.

Paediatric Ulcerative Colitis

Development

Ulcerative Colitis (UC) is an inflammatory bowel disease that affects the rectum and colon. Inflammation in UC occurs in the intestinal tract from dysregulated interactions between the microflora of the gut and the mucosa. UC has a unique presentation in children relative to adults. The paediatric form of the disease is widely regarded to be more aggressive than the adult form, and thus leads to increased risks of negative outcomes. Children with UC have higher risks of developing steroid dependency and a higher rate of colectomy than adults. A small percentage of children will go into permanent remission with either medical or surgical management, but most will continue to have persistent disease with acute exacerbations.


Rosburix is a single-strain, human gut commensal bacteria which has an anti-inflammatory mechanism and is under investigation for the treatment of paediatric Ulcerative Colitis.

0

Cancer

Development

In November 2015, 4D announced that it had developed a live biotherapeutic candidate demonstrating preclinical efficacy in cancer. Our immuno-oncology programme is underpinned by a strain which has an immuno-stimulatory host-response profile. We are investigating the effects of this candidate against a wide range of solid tumour types

0

Severe neutrophilic asthma

Development

Severe asthmatics constitute 5-10% of the overall asthma population and have significant unmet need. These patients are unable to control their symptoms using the maximum dose of inhalers and bronchodilators and require add-on therapy to ameliorate exacerbations. In particular, patients who present with a neutrophilic phenotype have very limited treatment options. Our lead candidate shows profound efficacy in preclinical models of severe asthma.

Eosinophilic asthma

Development

Eosinophilic asthma is a distinct phenotype from severe neutrophilic disease and is characterised by increased levels of eosinophils in the airways. We have a lead live biotherapeutic candidate which is able to reduce airway eosinophils in animal models and is potentially a new way to manage inflammation for this group of patients.

0

Rheumatoid arthritis

Development

Rheumatoid arthritis (RA) is an autoimmune disease of the joints which affects more than 3 million people in the US and major EU markets. Despite the launch of numerous RA therapeutics, there are still a significant number of patients who require safe and effective treatment options. Our lead live biotherapeutic candidate for RA shows both anti-inflammatory and joint-protective effects in preclinical models.

Multiple sclerosis

Development

Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a disease resulting from the attack of the insulating coating of nerve cells – known as the myelin sheath – by the immune system. There is currently no cure for MS and most patients need to take medications chronically throughout their lives. Although there are a number of treatments available for MS patients, they are associated with significant side-effects. The company’s live biotherapeutic candidate in MS has shown strong efficacy in industry standard preclinical models.

0

Preclinical

4D is also building on research into the gut-brain-axis to discover and develop live biotherapeutics for the treatment of autism and anxiety/depression.

Preclinical

4D is also building on research into the gut-brain axis to discover and develop live biotherapeutics for the treatment of autism and anxiety/depression.

BACK TO TOP